Trekkie vs. Trekker

When I first started this blog, I wasn’t sure whether to call myself a Trekkie or a Trekker. In my life before Star Trek, I’d heard the term “Trekkie” much more often, and of I’d heard of the film Trekkies. So I that’s what I chose. According to Wikipedia, “Science Fiction editor Arthur W. Saha applied the term “trekkies” when he saw a few fans of the first season of Star Trek wearing pointy ears at a science fiction convention” back in 1967. So it seems that Trekkie came before Trekker, which would make it the original, correct term. However Wikipedia also tells me that “in the 1991 TV show Star Trek: 25th Anniversary Special, Leonard Nimoy attempts to settle the issue by stating that the term ‘Trekker’ is the correct one.” Whatever LN says, goes!

I’ve perused the web on the subject and found a lot of contradiction. According to one web site, “Trekker” refers to someone who takes a more intellectual approach to the show, nitpicks the scientific accuracy, and appreciates the writing, production, etc., while “Trekkie” refers to someone who is more obsessed with the characters, storylines, and entire fictional Star Trek universe. In that case, I’m a little of both!

In my search, I also came across a clip of the the William Shatner “Get a Life” sketch from SNL, in which the fans are referred to as “Trekkers” by the convention leader.

I hope that the Trekkers out there aren’t scoffing at my self-proclaimed Trekkie-ness. 😉 Which term do you prefer?

Explore posts in the same categories: Uncategorized

Tags: , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

9 Comments on “Trekkie vs. Trekker”

  1. Frederick Says:

    I think that the stigma attached to the term “trekkie” which has long been seen as deragatory, is more distasteful to those long-time fans who have had to put up with the media’s belittling use of it. So, the term “trekker” was adpoted by the fandom community itself as less stereotypical. New fans may not care one way or the other, but seeing “trekkies” used for so long in snide tabloid articles does make me want to avoid the label. It brings to mind the fringe fans at the conventions that invariably ended up in the newspaper under the title “trekkies go wild at convention!” They are usually holding a phaser and wearing lopsided, ovesized rubber ears, ill-fitting uniforms, they were usually over-weight and acne-scarred, with hundreds of buttons pinned on their clothes and smelling of cheeseburgers and basements. That’s the media-propagated sterotype, unfortunately aided by those fans that created it.

    So, call me a trekker, please! 🙂 Trekkies run around screaming their idol’s name at conventions and generally embarrassing the rest of us!

    • DFG Says:

      I can vouch for the name Trekker. Back in the 80’s I used to attend British Trek conventions and there were always pres about when the stars appeared. We’d get where’s the ones in costume and stupid wise cracks about trekkies, so yes we liked to be referred as Trekkers.

      Even in a interview done by Patrick Stewart who made the comment that he believes we prefer to be called that when the interviewer had called us trekkies.


  2. […] looking down their noses at casual “bird watchers,” or sci-fi fans debating the relative merits of “Trekkies” verus “Trekkers.” Unlike the cases of birders or Trekkies, however, there’s a particularly explicit and […]

  3. Mietek Says:

    If it looks like a train spotter, smells like a train spotter, it is a train spotter. Have some pride, I’m a Trekkie and and I’m not embarrassed in the least bit. Let the outside world laugh, and know this, even if you personally insist on Trekkie, that is what the outside world sees…. Trekkies. Honestly, we’re sci fi fans who know way to much about it to be mainstream, live with it and don’t be shy about a label. Australian wine outgrew the stigma and it’s still Australian wine. Did you not learn a thing from the Great Bird of the Galaxy? Writing as somebody who was there from the beginning, there is no title I would prefer better than that of Trekkie. Our franchise has produced more astronauts, scientists and great thinkers than any other in recent human fiction. Scratch a Cern person and you find a Star Trek fan. Again I say, only the unnecessarily prickly and sensitive would feel the need for a new term .

  4. Noah Pitts Says:

    I go by either, but Im leaning 49%trekkie and 51% trekker because trekkie reminds me of my little 13 year old sister’s baby talk by putting the y/ie sound after everything she says. trekkie DESCRIBES me more, but trekker sounds more PROFFESIONAL

  5. Noah Pitts Says:

    or TREK FAN! haha… anyone?hahaha (sigh)

  6. Noah Pitts Says:

    sorry ’bout the separate posts, my computer is being stupid, but did you notice if you wear a sports uniform everywhere nobody cares but if you wear a star trek uniform

  7. Noah Pitts Says:

    people laugh and push you in a ditch! I swear if I see them again I will do very painful and eccentric things to th


Leave a Reply

