The Journey Begins

Me: A mid-twenties female who has never seen any Star Trek episode or movie. I have loved a number of other space/sci-fi shows, including Star Wars, The X-Files, Stargate SG-1, and Firefly. But for some reason, I always resisted watching Star Trek. It didn’t look interesting to me at ALL. But this past weekend, all that changed. I went to see the new Star Trek movie, and I LOVED it. It was hugely entertaining, visually engaging, fast-paced, and funny. Of course, my favorite aspect of the film was the power struggle between Kirk & Spock. Chris Pine and Zachary Quinto had a great on-screen chemistry. I found Quinto’s portrayal of Spock to be particularly intriguing…and he’s HOT!! I walked away from the film totally Hot4Spock. Thus, I created this blog. I want to see more Star Trek and more Spock. My mission: To watch all Spock-related Star Trek, starting with the first episode of the original series, and to seek out particularly adorable/funny/interesting Spock moments. As someone who’s always been a fan of deep partner relationships on TV, and who likes some slash fanfic now & then, I’ll also be looking for moments of friendship between Kirk & Spock, as well as moments that can be inappropriately construed as more than friendship. πŸ˜‰ For any new trekkies or fellow Spock-lovers, I welcome your comments!

Explore posts in the same categories: Uncategorized

4 Comments on “The Journey Begins”

  1. HQ Says:

    I must admit that your experience of the new Star Trek movie is very akin to my own, and that ever since seeing it I have been doing precisely as you have (minus the blog) . . . “fascinating”. I commend you on your commitment to this worthy obsession.

  2. SJK11 Says:

    I agree. My discovery of Star Trek began the same way, and I absolutely feel the same way for Spock. I loved the X-Files as a kid too. In fact Mulder was my first heavy on-screen crush lol. Spock I’d say is my third. Two sci-fi characters, go figure.

    I’ll definitely be following this blog and maybe doing a similar one of my own! (once I get my hands on more Star Trek)

    • ViRo Says:

      it’s good to here that there are other folks out there with a similar brain to mine! πŸ˜‰

      Mulder will always have a special place in my heart. The X-Files was such a great, great show (except for seasons 8 and 9, heh). Kirk/Spock has some similarities to the Mulder & Scully partnership…maybe I’ll write a post about that.

  3. Jackie Says:

    Welcome to the fold. It’s so brilliant that people are discovering the Original Series even now, despite all the subsequent advances in effects, CGI, etc. I’ll certainly be keeping an eye on your excellent blog, and thank you for taking the trouble to start it and help spread the word!


Leave a Reply

